Defiance College Directory


Defiance College
701 N. Clinton St.
Defiance, Ohio 43512
419.784.4010  /  1.800.520.GODC

 B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

Part-time faculty are not listed at this time.

 A

Ahmed Abdul-Shakoor
Assistant Football Coach
Phone: 419-783-2452
aabdul-shakoor@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 25

Academic Affairs
Phone: 419-783-2586
Location: Defiance 106

Stacy Adams
ASD Affinity Program & Education Clinical Experiences Coordinator
Phone: 419-783-2525
stadams@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance Hall 119

Admissions
Phone: 419-783-2359
Fax: 419-783-2468
admissions@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 112

Alumni/ae
Phone: 419-783-2304
alumni@defiance.edu

 

Jeff Appel
Maintenance Technician
Phone: 419-783-2503
jappel@defiance.edu
Location: Physical Plant

Tracy Armey
Assistant Director of the Institute for Career Readiness and Lifelong Learning
Phone: 419-783-2349
tarmey@defiance.edu
Location: Pilgrim Library 211

Art Gallery
Women's Commission Gallery

wcg@defiance.edu
Location: Dana Hall

Emili Aselage
Admissions Counselor
Phone: 419-783-2438
easelage@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 112K

Athletics
Phone: 419-783-2342
Fax: 419-783-2369
Location: McMaster Center 105

Audio/Visual
Phone: 419-783-2615

 top

 B

Ben Babcock
Assistant Baseball Coach
Phone: 419-783-2335
bbabcock@defiance.edu
Location: Smart Center 117

Britta Baker
Marketing Coordinator
Phone: 419-783-2545
bbaker@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 223C

Steven Bare, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
Phone: 419-783-2523
sbare@defiance.edu
Location: Dana 5

Clarissa Barnes, Ph.D., BCBA-D
Associate Professor of Special Education
Director of Hench Autism Studies Program
Phone: 419-783-2355
cbarnes@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 104C

Lisa Beringer, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Specialization: Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Phone: 419-783-2451
lberinger@defiance.edu
Location: Dana 13

Sally Bissell
Executive Director of Institutional Advancement

Phone: 419-783-2411
sbissell@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 216F

Devin Bledsoe
Assistant Football Coach
Phone: 419-783-2432
dbledsoe@defiance.edu 
Location: Defiance 31

Board of Trustees

Kristine Boland
Controller
Phone: 419-783-2469
kboland@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 213C

Steven Borawski
Registrar
Phone: 419-783-2358
sborawski@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 204E

Lynn Braun, M.A., P.C.C.-S.
Assistant Dean of Campus Wellness
Director of Counseling & Accessibility Services
Phone: 419-783-2548
lbraun@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 201

Rev. Jim Brehler
Pastor, St. John United Church of Christ
Phone: 419-782-4176 
stjohnuccpastor@gmail.com
Location: 950 Webster Ave. 

Sabrina Brown, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Environmental Science
Phone: 419-783-2598
sabrown@defiance.edu
Location: Rowe 105

Deependra Budhathoki, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Teacher Education
Phone: 419-783-2416
dbudhathoki@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 123

Dawn Buchholz
Assistant Registrar
Phone: 419-783-2551
dbuchholz@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 204

Don Buerk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
Phone: 419-783-2454
dbuerk@defiance.edu
Location: Dana 2

Mary Burkholder
Director of Human Resources
Phone: 419-783-2360
mburkholder@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 106F

Business Office
Phone: 419-783-2550
Fax: 419-783-2318
businessoffice@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 214

 top

 C

Cafeteria
Hallmark Dining
Phone: 419-783-2488
hallmark@defiance.edu

Sam Cai, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Business
Phone: 419-783-2431
scai@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance Hall 206D

Agnes Caldwell, Ph.D.
Vice President for Academic Affairs/Academic Dean &
Interim Vice President for Enrollment Management
Phone: 419-783-2586
acaldwell@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 106E

Michelle Call
Accounting Associate
Phone: 419-783-2325
mcall@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 214

Career Development
Phone: 419-783-2349
Fax: 419-783-2597
Location: Pilgrim Library 214

Nathan Christianson
Head Cross Country and Track & Field Coach
Phone: 419-783-2385
nchristianson@defiance.edu
Location: Smart Center 118

Keith Christy, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sport Management
Phone: 419-783-2568
kchristy@defiance.edu
Location: Dana 3

Mercedes Clay
Chief Diversity Officer and Director of Intercultural Relations
Phone: 419-783-2362
mclay@defiance.edu
Location: Hubbard 132

Maddie Clawson
Library Assistant
Phone: 419-783-2414
mclawson@defiance.edu
Location: Pilgrim Library 201

Stephen Clouse, Ph.D.
McMaster Professor of Constitutional Studies
Phone: 419-783-2449
sclouse@defiance.edu
Location: Dana 12

Communications
Phone: 419-783-2590
Fax: 419-784-0426

Computer Services
Phone: 419-783-2667

Isiah Cross
Assistant Director of Admissions
Coordinator of Telecounseling & Training
Phone: 419-783-2363
icross@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 112D

Lisa Crumit-Hancock
Assistant Dean of Student Success
Director of Student Academic Support Services

Phone: 419-783-2332
lcrumithancock@defiance.edu
Location: Pilgrim Library 216

Custodial Services
{WFF Custodial Services}
Phone: 419-783-2466
wffcustodial@defiance.edu

Ted Czartoski
Director of Physical Plant
Phone: 419-783-2436
tczartoski@defiance.edu
Location: Physical Plant

 top

 D

Brett Decker, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor of Business
Phone: 419-783-2417
bdecker@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 206C

Defender
Phone: 419-783-2348
defender@defiance.edu
Website

Heidi DeSota, DNP, RN
Director of Nursing
Assistant Professor of Nursing
Phone: 419-783-2372
hdesota@defiance.edu
Location: Tenzer 101

Dining Services
Phone: 419-783-2488

Bradley Doidge
Director of the Men's & Women's Golf Programs
Phone: 419-783-2405
bdoidge@defiance.edu
Location: McMaster 105G

Dimare Dunlap
Administrative Assistant, Student Life
Phone: 419-783-2437
ddunlap@defiance.edu 
Location: Hubbard 128

Somnath Dutta, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry

Phone: 419-783-2428
sdutta@defiance.edu
Location: Tenzer 301

 top

 E

Education Department
Phone: 419-783-2323

Nady El-Zayaty, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Business
Phone: 419-783-2581
nelzayaty@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 208C

Steven Engel, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of English
Director of Composition
Phone: 419-783-2338
sengel@defiance.edu
Location: Schauffler 125

English Program Website

top

 F

Facilities Rental
Conferences & Events
Phone: 419-783-2585
Fax: 419-783-2579

Sidney Faine
Director of Student Activities & Leadership
Hall Director

Phone: 419-783-2388
sfaine@defiance.edu

Beverly Fanning, MFA
Assistant Professor of Design
Director of the Defiance Women's Commission Gallery
Phone: 419-783-2559
bfanning@defiance.edu
Location: Art Center 6

Dawn Ferris
Registration Clerk
Phone: 419-783-2579
dferris@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 204

Financial Aid
Phone: 419-783-2364
Fax: 419-783-2579
financialaid@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 204

Fitness Center
Phone: 419-783-2697

top

 G

George M. Smart Center
Phone: 419-783-2697

Joshua Gibson
Head Men's Basketball Coach
Phone: 419-783-2346
jgibson@defiance.edu
Location: McMaster Center 131

Amanda Gilbert, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Phone: 419-783-2473
agilbert@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 104B

Julie Godfrey
Groundskeeper
Phone: 419-783-2503
jgodfrey@defiance.edu
Location: Physical Plant

Sheldon Goodrum, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Phone: 419-783-2522
sgoodrum@defiance.edu
Location: Schauffler 208

Graduate Programs
Phone: 419-783-2325
gradstudies@defiance.edu

Brent Greear
Maintenance Technician
Phone: 419-783-2503
bgreear@defiance.edu
Location: Physical Plant

Timothy Green, ABD, MA
Instructor of English
Phone: 419-783-2348
tgreen@defiance.edu
Location: Schauffler 122

Greenhouse
Phone: 419-783-2426

Nathan Griggs, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology
Phone: 419-783-2592
ngriggs@defiance.edu
Location: Rowe 211

top

 H

Eric Haecker
Assistant Women's Soccer Coach
Phone: 419-783-2565
ehaecker@defiance.edu
Location: Weaner Center 136C

Hallmark Dining
Phone: 419-783-2488
hallmark@defiance.edu

Trent Hayes, Th.D.
Vice President for Enrollment Management
Phone: 419-783-2354
thayes@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 112C

Rod Hersha
Head Women's Basketball Coach
Phone: 419-783-2391
rhersha@defiance.edu
Location: McMaster Center 105C

Josh Hess
Head Women's Soccer Coach
Phone: 419-783-2404
jhess@defiance.edu
Location: McMaster Center 105F

 

 

Carla Higgins, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Education
Director of Education
Phone: 419-783-2571
chiggins@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 104A

Scott Hirko, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Sport Management
Phone: 419-783-2336
shirko@defiance.edu
Location: Dana 31A

Hive
Phone: 419-783-2442
Location: Hubbard Hall

Nicole Hoffman
Assistant Director of Admissions and Coordinator of Digital Marketing
Phone: 419-783-2367
nhoffman@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 112L

Housing
Phone: 419-783-2563

Human Resources
Phone: 419-783-2360
Fax: 419-784-4101

top

 I

Institutional Advancement
Phone: 419-783-2463
alumni@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 215

Intercultural Relations
Phone: 419-783-2362
Location: Hubbard 140

Janice Ivory
Assistant Dean of Enrollment Management & Director of Financial Aid
Phone: 419-783-2376
jivory@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 204D

top

 J

Jacket Sports Line
Phone: 419-783-2582

 

top

 K

Seonguk Kim, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Phone: 419-783-2418
skim@defiance.edu
Location: Tenzer 203D

Collette Knight
Library Access & Outreach Services Manager
Phone: 419-783-2482
knightc@defiance.edu
Location: Pilgrim Library 217

Kris Knight
Accessibility Services Coordinator & Counseling Center Staff Clinician
Phone: 419-783-2445
kknight@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 202B

Kirsten Knell
Conference & Events Coordinator
Phone: 419-783-2585
kknell@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 223A

Kimberly Kuiper, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Communication Studies
Phone: 419-783-2459
kkuiper@defiance.edu
Location: Dana Hall 9

top

 L

Jack Lawson
Veteran, Transfer, & Adult Student Support Coordinator
Phone: 419-783-2313
jlawson@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 105

Learning Commons
Phone: 419-783-2389

Library
Phone: 419-783-2481
Fax:419-783-2594
library@defiance.edu

Olivia Lozar, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
Phone: 419-783-2456
olozar@defiance.edu
Location: Dana 4

Josh Lubich
Head Men's Soccer Coach
Phone: 419-783-2408
jlubich@defiance.edu
Location: McMaster 105E

Judy Lymanstall
Executive Secretary to the President
Phone: 419-783-2300
jlymanstall@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 106

Mindi Lynn
Administrative Assistant for Athletics
Phone: 419-783-2342
mlynn@defiance.edu
Location: McMaster Center 105

top

 M

Mailroom
Phone: 419-783-2329
mailroom@defiance.edu
Location: Hubbard 140

Maintenance
Phone: 419-783-2503

Richanne C. Mankey, Ed.D.
President
Phone: 419-783-2300
rmankey@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 106B

Lisa M. Marsalek
Vice President for Student Affairs
Dean of Students
Phone: 419-783-2587
lmarsalek@defiance.edu
Location: Hubbard 130

Ryan Mays
Audio Visual & Academic Technology Coordinator
Phone: 419-783-2615
rmays@defiance.edu
Location: Library 104

Makayla McAvoy
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Phone: 419-783-2379
mmcavoy@defiance.edu
Location: Weaner Center 142A

Sheri McCoy
Director of Donor Relations & Special Events
Phone: 419-783-2304
smccoy@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 216E

McMaster School for Advancing Humanity
Phone: 419-783-2553
mcmasterschool@defiance.edu

Media Center (UCC)
Phone: 419-783-2484

Tina Mohring
Director of Student Accounts
Phone: 419-783-2339
kmohring@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 213B

Moodle Support
Phone: 419-783-2490
moodle@defiance.edu

 top

 N

Aaron Napierala, M.S., MCSE, MCSA, Network+, A+
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Phone: 419-783-2356
anapierala@defiance.edu
Location: Dana 8

Bill Nickell
Head Football Coach
Phone: 419-783-2583
bnickell@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance Hall 13

Hailey Niese
Executive Administrative Assistant for Academic Affairs
Phone: 419-783-2586
hniese@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 106

Tamala North, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Teacher Education
Phone: 419-783-2315
tnorth@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance Hall 125

 top

 O

Amanda O'Shea
Assistant Softball Coach
Phone: 419-783-2378
aschneider@defiance.edu
Location: McMaster 136D

Robyn Otey
Office Coordinator, McMaster School and Institute for Career Readiness
Phone: 419-783-2553
rotey@defiance.edu
Location: Pilgrim Library 101

  top

 P

Jules Patalita, Ph.D.
Instructor of Communication Studies
Phone: 419-783-2316
jpatalita@defiance.edu
Location: Dana 10

Kathryn Phillips, Ph.D.
Krieger Visiting Scholar in Religious Studies
Phone: 419-783-2461
kphillips@defiance.edu
Location: Dana 6

Physical Plant
Phone: 419-783-2503
Fax: 419-783-2501
physicalplant@defiance.edu

President
Richanne C. Mankey, Ed.D.
Phone: 419-783-2300
Fax: 419-784-4101
rmankey@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance Hall 106B

Press Box
Phone: 419-783-2582

Public Relations
Phone: 419-783-2302
Fax: 419-784-0426
Location: Serrick 228

top

 R

Terry Ranes
Athletic Facilities Manager
Phone: 419-783-2492
tranes@defiance.edu
Location: Weaner Center 137

Registrar's Office
Phone: 419-783-2375
Fax: 419-783-2579
registrar@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 204

Residence Life
Phone: 419-783-2563
Location: Hubbard 126

Scott Rhodes
Maintenance Technician
Phone: 419-783-2503
srhodes@defiance.edu
Location: Physical Plant

Timothy Rickabaugh, Ph.D.
Professor of Exercise Science
Phone: 419-783-2584
trickabaugh@defiance.edu
Location: Dana 1

Marcia Rozevink, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Teacher Education
Phone: 419-783-2373
mrozevink@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance 122

top

 S

Tess Salisbury, MSW, LISW-S
Assistant Professor of Social Work
Director of Social Work
Phone: 419-783-2556
tsalisbury@defiance.edu
Location: Schauffler 205

Chris Sanders
Director of eSports and Head Coach
Phone: 419-783-2389
csanders@defiance.edu
Location: Pilgrim Library 105

Security
Phone: 419-783-2625
security@defiance.edu
Location: Hubbard 109

Barbara Sedlock
Lead Librarian & Coordinator of Metadata & Archives
Phone: 419-783-2487
bsedlock@defiance.edu
Location: Pilgrim Library 116

Service Learning
Phone: 419-783-2552

Jim Sliwinski, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology
Phone: 419-783-2403
jsliwinski@defiance.edu
Location: Schauffler 209

Grant Soffer
Assistant Men's Basketball Coach
Phone: 419-783-2343
gsoffer@defiance.edu
Location: McMaster Center 130

Steven Sondergaard, JD
Professor of Criminal Justice
Phone: 419-783-2443
ssondergaard@defiance.edu
Location: Schauffler 204

Mollie Sorrell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
Phone: 419-783-2494
msorrell@defiance.edu
Location: Rowe 205

Angela Sosebee
Interim Director of Marketing & Public Relations
Phone: 419-783-2302
asosebee@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 228D

Sports Information
Phone: 419-783-2566

Aaron Stallworth
Assistant Cross Country and Track & Field Coach
Phone: 419-783-2334
astallworth@defiance.edu
Location: Smart Center 117

Phillip Stelzer
Assistant Director of Physical Plant
Phone: 419-783-2504
pstelzer@defiance.edu
Location: Physical Plant

Lacey Strickler, Ph.D.
Director of the STEM Academic Support Center
Phone: 419-783-2495
lstrickler@defiance.edu
Location: Pilgrim Library 202

David Stuckey, M.A.
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Phone: 419-783-2464
dstuckey@defiance.edu
Offices: Tenzer 203D

Student Activities
Phone: 419-783-2388
Location: Hubbard 109

Student Life
Phone: 419-783-2437
Fax: 419-783-2597
Location: Hubbard 130

Student Senate
Phone: 419-783-2421

Swarm Shop
DC Apparel & Gift Store
Phone: 419-783-2576
Location: Hubbard 140

Steve Swinson
Head Wrestling Coach
Phone: 419-783-2409
sswinson@defiance.edu
Location: McMaster Center 105D


 top

 T

Jeremy Taylor, Ph.D.
Dean of the Institute for Career Readiness and McMaster School; Professor of History
Phone: 419-783-2305
jtaylor@defiance.edu
Location: Pilgrim Library 128

Cody Thomas
Assistant Director of Music Programs
Phone: 419-783-2331
cthomas@defiance.edu
Location: Schauffler 128

Kevin Tong, M.S.Ed., ATC
Head Athletic Trainer
Phone: 419-783-2340
ktong@defiance.edu
Location: Weaner Center 142BC

John Trautman, D.H.L.
Senior Institutional Advancement Advisor
419-783-2463
jtrautman@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance Hall 216

Spencer Treadwell
Assistant Football Coach: Offensive Coordinator
419-783-2453
streadwell@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance Hall 22

Board of Trustees

Linda Tucker Serniak, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
Phone: 419-783-2593
ltuckerserniak@defiance.edu
Location: Rowe 111

 top

 U

Nick Umbdenstock
Head Volleyball Coach
Phone: 419-783-2489
numbdenstock@defiance.edu
Location: Weaner Center 136A

 V

Ron Vorlicky
Maintenance Technician
Phone: 419-783-2503
rvorlicky@defiance.edu
Location: Physical Plant

 

 top

 W

D'Gary Wallace
Assistant Football Coach: Defensive Coordinator
Phone: 419-783-2446
dwallace@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance Hall 37

Jennifer Walton
Assistant Dean of Students
and Director of Residence Life

Phone: 419-783-2563
jwalton@defiance.edu
Location: Hubbard 126

Megan Warren
Assistant Athletic Director & Head Softball Coach
Phone: 419-783-2406
mwarren@defiance.edu
Location: McMaster Center 105H

Joe Webb
Assistant Football Coach: Special Teams Coordinator
Phone: 419-783-2432
jwebb@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance Hall 38

Monica Webb
Mail Services & Retail Store Coordinator
Phone: 419-783-2329
mwebb@defiance.edu
Location: Hubbard 140

Webmaster
webmaster@defiance.edu

Timothy Wedge, M.A., CFCE, MCSE, CISSP, A+
Associate Professor of Cyber-forensics
Phone: 419-783-2415
twedge@defiance.edu
Location: Dana 7

Andy White
Admissions Counselor
Phone: 419-783-2611
awhite@defiance.edu 
Location: Serrick 112J

Sharon Wiemken
Director of Academic Technology & Online Learning
Phone: 419-783-2490
swiemken@defiance.edu
Location: Defiance Hall 011

Bridgette Winslow
Dean of the Institute for Pre-Health & Wellness Studies
Phone: 419-783-2395
bwinslow@defiance.edu
Location: Serrick 206

Tyler Wise
Assistant Sports Information Director
Phone: 419-783-2384
twise@defiance.edu
Location: Weaner Center 133A

Women's Commission Gallery
wcg@defiance.edu
Location: Dana Hall

Derek Woodley
Athletic Director
Head Baseball Coach
Phone: 419-783-2341
dwoodley@defiance.edu
Location: McMaster Center 105J

 top

 Y

Alesia Yakos-Brown, MSW, LISW
Associate Professor of Social Work
Phone: 419-783-2425
aybrown@defiance.edu
Location: Schauffler 207

 

 top